Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra

The Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra was founded in 1918. From 1930, under principal conductor Eduard Flipse, it developed into one of the foremost orchestras of the Netherlands. In the 1970s, with Jean Fournet and Edo de Waart, the orchestra gained international recognition. Valery Gergiev’s appointment heralded a new period of bloom, which continued from 2008 with Yannick Nézet-Séguin, who after 2018 remains with the orchestra as honorary conductor. Lahav Shani has become principal conductor from September 2018.


Sign up for our newsletter to receive the latest news.